Archive Dive: Lester Park

First called Stearns Park, Duluth’s Lester Park was a gift to the city form the developers of Lakeside and Lester Park, which were annexed by Duluth in 1893. But Duluthians had been enjoying picnics, fishing, and much more along the Lester for many years before that. Read the history of what the the Duluth News Tribune once called, “enchanted land of fairy-like beauty” here.

Lithographic postcard, ca. 1900, of Lester Park’s iconic Rustic Bridge over the Lester River. (Image: Zenith City Press)

Leave a Comment